Badung, the Regent of Badung

Historical Note
Nambangan was said to be the name of the Regency before Badung was forged by Gusti Ngurah Made Pemecutan in the late 18th century.  He was aided by the magical kriss and whip and conquered Mengwi and Jembrana in 1810.  He was succeeded by two other “Rajas” of whom the demise seems to have been engineered by the successor, presumably the brother, Raja Kesiman, who ruled through the crucial years of 1829 to 1863.  He showed himself to be predisposed to the world beyond Bali and gave cause for hope to the Dutch.  The Dutch were allowed to set up recruiting stations at Kuta in 1826, in return for handsome bounties that were allotted from the response from the recruiting stations.

Kuta is also the place where Captain Cornelis de Houtman and his crews pitched camp in 1557, when 20,000 Balinese troops were on the way to defend Blambangan from the encroaching Moslem of Mataram kingdom.

Land and Community

The Regency of Badung, which is located between 08 degrees south latitude and 115 degrees east longitude, is shaped liked a “kriss”. The Regency, which has only 418.52 square kilometers of land, is divided into six districts (kecamatan), 40 administrative villages (desa dinas and Kelurahan), and as many as 117 traditional villages (desa adapt). Those villages are again subdivided into as many as 297 smaller community groups known as “Dusun”, and 498 “Banjar”. Each Banjar in the Regency has a Youth Organization named “Sekaa Teruna Teruni” (STT). The total population of Badung Regency is approximately 280,000 people, with the average density of 672 people per square kilometer. In compliance with the state objective, the harmony between material and spiritual development must be equal. The governmental structure down to the rural villages play an important role in keeping this balance.

The Government programs also encourage people to consciously take an active part in all development fields, regardless of one’s gender. As the Regency is headed by Regent (Bupati), the Districts headed by Pak Camat, Desa, and Dusun are headed by perbekel (Lurah) and Klian Banjar / Kepala Dusun. In this five year term development, Badung is divided into three Development Territories.

North Badung:
Includes Districts of Petang and Abiansemal, centered in Blahkiuh. The priority here is agriculture in broad term, as well as ground conservation

Central Badung: Covers the whole Mengwi District with food crops, agriculture, and home industries as the priorities.

South Badung: Tourism industry, education, and commercial development are the priorities in this area which include Kuta, Nusa Dua, Tanjung Benoa, Bukit, Jimbaran, and Kedonganan.

Agriculture and industries (especially the home and small – scale industries) that support the tourism sector are likely to be intensively expanded. Extension in the tourism sector has become the main sector to strengthen foreign exchange devisa, employment, equity, of earnings, and private businesses, all of which increase the overall welfare of the community.

Message to webmaster